Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

The Time is Ripe

on April 16, 2016

Well.

It looks like my last post on this blog was almost two years ago. That’s an eternity on the internet. The truth is, I started this blog while pregnant with Agnes, and I wrote about life as a young, pregnant mother. Then I wrote about Agnes, and after she passed away, I lost my voice. What was I supposed to write about? I wanted to write about how life continues in a family after a child dies, how we learn to grieve and live with the loss, and find graces and meaning, and yadda yadda yadda. But I couldn’t write about any of that, because it was a struggle to process all the feelings for myself, much less for an audience. I made it about six or eight months after Agnes passed away before I gave up. I didn’t really decide to give up, but. You know.

So, two years passed. And here I am again. Jeremy and I did a huge thing earlier tonight. We stood up in front of a room full of 120 people and told our very personal story about Agnes. I admit, I cried during our talk. It was a scary talk to present. I’m really glad I wrote out my notes in complete, coherent sentences because I needed those things while I was speaking. We stood up and spoke from the heart about Agnes and how she changed our lives. I think this marks a turning point for us, and for me. It has only been two years, but we put in the work. We grieved hard core. We processed hard core. Those scars will always be marks in our souls, but we have a Saint Baby Agnes to pray for us, to help us continue healing, an ongoing event.

If anyone from that talk earlier tonight is here now, welcome. You can scroll down the page to the “tag cloud” and click whatever you want to read about.

I think the time is ripe now. I can start to find things to share again. I would like to find things to share. Thank you for visiting my blog, and I hope to speak with you again shortly.

Leave a Reply

