Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

Face to Face

on May 22, 2014

I realized today that one of the main reasons I’ve been quiet on the blog recently is not because my life is so busy. No. It’s not because nothing meaningful is happening around here, that’s not it either. I think the big reason I’m not posting on the blog is because Jeremy and I are participating in grief counseling. I am able to take the inner conversations that I used to hash out on the interwebs, and I hash them out with our counselor. This activity is exceedingly important and beneficial, and I didn’t fully realize how beneficial the counseling is until I made the connection to my silence on the blog.

We’ve been meeting with the grief counselor for about six weeks, and that pretty much lines up with blog silence. It’s really funny to me that I find myself appreciating the experience so much, since Jeremy all but dragged my the hair into the first meeting. *Sighhhhh* “Okay, honey, if it’s that important to you, we can go…”

The first few weeks of meetings, we just got to know our counselor (we have the same lady every time), and we told her the background of us and Agnes’ story, and what happened when she died. Then we worked on a list of goals so we know what we are working on, and so we can know when we are done. That was hard. How will we be able to know when we are healed enough that we don’t need grief counseling anymore? We had to list specific, concrete markers like: right now I cry at trigger moments twice a day; I’ll know I am “done” when I cry at trigger moments only once a week. For example. We have to learn how to recognize a trigger moment is about to happen so we can redirect ourselves or prepare, and thus manage our emotions. That is a big one. For me, trigger moments happen all the freaking time. If you ever see me weeping in the grocery store parking lot or sniffling during choir practice, now you know why. Trigger moment. I keep saying that like you already know what it means. You can probably guess, but the trigger moment is something that makes me think of Agnes, or something that makes me feel sad, or something that pushes me close to the edge of tears. So basically, anything.

The other thing we’ve been doing with our counselor is, she wanted a list of names of all the people whose lives were enriched or touched by Agnes in any way. That would be a completely separate post. I think I will do it; the list is very impressive. And our counselor wants us to think about all the positive things that are coming of our experience. She told us that even though we feel like it is impossible to even get up in the morning and do our stuff, people look at us and are filled with hope because, if we can overcome the monumental loss of our baby enough so that we are even able to drag our butts out of the house, then they can surely overcome whatever trials they have in their lives. So, we’re supposed to think about things like that. Hope. Inspiration. Are we inspiring? I don’t know. I don’t feel that inspiring.

Anyway, it’s very good that we are meeting with a grief counselor and having these conversations face to face. She is trained to ask the right questions and draw out what we really need to say. She is encouraging and receptive, affirms our feelings and tells us we are totally and completely normal for feeling the way we do. She helps us to see all the sides and she helps us draw comfort from our memories rather than pain. Face to face. A living, feeling person is far superior for this sort of thing than a glowing screen bearing a vague promise that someone might connect.

On a slightly related note, I just want to mention that we are pretty excited because the monument company called us this week to say Agnes’ burial marker is finished; the cemetery will install it soon. This is huge because every time we go visit Agnes’ grave site we’re like, “….I think this is it…maybe…or over here?…This looks right with that tree there….I think I remember these other names being near her…” It’s a nightmare! When I say a prayer over the place where Agnes is buried, I want to be darn sure she is where I think she is! Plus, we’re excited because her stone is really pretty. We’ll definitely take a picture once it’s installed and I’ll put it up here. No worries.

100_1811

An old picture of Agnes I wanted to share again. Because she’s cute!

3 responses to “Face to Face

  1. JeneaSwainston says:

    You may never know how much you have inspired me… I admire you both so much and my heart still hurts for you also. Agnes’ life …and death…has been a pivotal point in my life.
    She is a beautiful baby girl for sure!

  2. I think that our children fill our lives completely so that after they are born, we can barely remember a time before they came into them. It’s as if they we’re always there, just on the sidelines. There must be an unimaginable emptiness your daughter left behind. I think not only is it honest to admit that void exists but it can only be helpful to engage it. I pray your counseling helps.

  3. Irene Martyniuk says:

    Judy, It sounds as if you have a terrific grief counselor. How can you not feel grief and have trigger points? That is completely normal. But the idea of learning to live but not forgetting is important too. Ten years ago I lost one of my most important mentors to lung cancer. Even now I will sometimes have a good cry over it, and I think that’s ok. I never want to “get over” losing her. She was an important part of my life and taught me so much. I don’t believe in idea of closure; I would never want to close out the people in my life whom I have lost–what a horrible thought! They are always in our lives. I have heard so much about Baby Agnes from my sister Maria and my niece Natalia and so many others in the Holy Ghost Parish. I truly think it is ok to grieve and ok to live. May God bless you and Jeremy and your three children.

Leave a Reply

