Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

Happy Anniversary!

on February 22, 2014

Today marks one year of blogging for me. One year ago I was living in Rio Rancho, NM and struggling to find satisfaction in my life as a housewife and mother. I started keeping this blog as a way to be mindful of the little blessings in my life, and as a way to process disappointments with some detachment. I’ve always been somewhat volatile as far as elation/sorrow are concerned, so a place where I could take a step back was helpful. I think this blog was a very important factor in my life this past year, with all the ups and downs of carrying a baby with an uncertain medical future, moving across country, giving birth to Agnes who turned out to have enormously complicated medical requirements, then ultimately becoming the mother of a deceased child. I wrote a post a while back about my family’s struggles during the past couple years, with the closing remark that hopefully the next year would prove to be less trying. I don’t know if that has happened, but I’m certain this blog has helped me to bear up under strains and trials that most people would consider to be unbearable. I’ve had my moments of weakness, as you know if you have read my blog, and my moments of strength and clarity. I won’t say I’m grateful for what this past year has brought me, but I will say this past year has shaped me into a different sort of person and taught me about what I value in my life. There have been many many blessings that came about because of the suffering my family has endured; blessings enough to make the suffering worth the pain.

At this point in my life, I am nowhere close to what I expected my life to be even four or five years ago. I never imagined I would have two out of three of my children in heaven. I never imagined that I would be living in Ohio under my parents’ roof. I never imagined that I would find fulfillment as a homemaker. But this is my life, and it does nobody any good for me to regret past choices. In fact, I do find fulfillment in my work at home, and the journey I have taken so far has made a person I can respect.

Thank you for taking this journey with me.100_2019

5 responses to “Happy Anniversary!

  1. JeneaSwainston says:

    Your blog has greatly blessed my life.
    I find hope and gratitude in things I didn’t think about before and you give me a direction that I haven’t had.
    Love you! Aunt Jenea

  2. David Schwager says:

    Judy, I admire your perseverance in continuing the blog for an entire year. It lets me feel like I am there with your family.

  3. Rebecca Wood says:

    We almost have the same blog anniversaries! 🙂

Leave a Reply

