Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

My Blog is Not Dead, I Promise

on February 11, 2014

I guess I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus with the blog since Agnes died. I’m not apologizing but I do feel as if I have been neglecting this page. So, this is my first entry back into the world wide web as a blogger.

We’ve been busy around home playing with Stephen and hosting Jeremy’s parents. It has been nice having them here to help out and Stephen is just over the moon to have “grandpa and grandma, and new grandpa and new grandma” around. He is getting lots of attention. We’ve taken him to the library a couple of times in the past week or two and that is pretty much the most awesome place ever! Stephen adores picking out a stack of books to bring home. We pulled out a special basket for library books, to keep them separate, and Stephen is excited about his stash of books.

We’ve also been busy stepping up our efforts to buy a house. Jeremy and I are poor so his parents are graciously lending us their credit credentials as “non-occupant co-borrowers” so we can qualify for a mortgage. We found a beautiful home in the perfect neighborhood, and we made an offer that was accepted! It will probably take a month or so to get everything worked out, but we are already very excited about our new house. It was built in 1918 and still has original woodwork in the whole house; it was painted over in only one of the bedrooms. There are gorgeous hardwood floors in most of the house, a full basement with a workroom, and a finished attic. There is a good mix of move-in ready with some projects we can complete as we wish. The kitchen needs updating and the back porch is not great, plus the usual cosmetic type things (wallpaper in a room or two, paint colors). We are excited!

We’ve also been busy diving into handiwork. Jeremy is back at the books studying for his nursing degree. Luckily he was able to work ahead before Agnes died, so he didn’t actually get that far behind in the past couple weeks. As for me, I am exploring the boundless wonders to be seen on Pinterest; I’ve even started a project! I’m braiding a rag rug. It will be so pretty when it’s finished!

We’ve also been busy talking about how we can improve our diet and lifestyle to be healthier and to better reflect our desires for our family’s life. We want to start making kefir and kombucha, and culturing vegetables, and I want to bake more bread. We want to eat more vegetables and less meat. We want to be more intentional about menu planning and grocery shopping. There is a lot to think about.

Salzburger Stiegl. Braukunst auf hocheter stufe. Es muss ein Steigl sein!

Salzburger Stiegl. Braukunst auf hocheter stufe. Es muss ein Steigl sein!

Two final small exciting things. First, last week we went to the Mustard Seed Market, which is an organic/whole foods type of place. I found bottles of Stiegl beer there! This is a beer I drank while I lived in Austria for three weeks one summer during college. I have never found in the U.S. Never. I was so surprised and excited to find it at Mustard Seed!

Second, one of Agnes’ nurses had a pretty necklace with a charm on it for each of her children and I mentioned that I liked it. Apparently a hospital employee makes the charms and the nurse offered to hook me up. Unfortunately Agnes died before my charms were finished, and I thought that was the end of it. But a couple days ago I got a nice letter in the mail from that nurse with the charms attached. It was so sweet.

So, we’ve been keeping busy and occupying our minds and hands. We still miss Agnes and it is difficult to adjust to being a family of three again, but we are staying busy to help. It is helping.

One charm for each of my children.

One charm for each of my children. The rings are for J.M. and Agnes, both in heaven.

8 responses to “My Blog is Not Dead, I Promise

  1. JeneaSwainston says:

    I’m excited for your getting a new home! Do you have the rug braiding tools that hold and fold the fabric?
    I’ll look for mine and send them out if I still have them…never used them but had good intentions.
    Love the necklace! What a wonderful thing for her to do for you!
    Glad Jeremy is getting back to his studies! He will be a wonderful nurse!
    Love you all! Aunt Jenea

  2. Becca says:

    Congrats on the new home! It looks amazing. I can’t wait to see how you decorate it when you move in.

    • judy says:

      Believe me, how to decorate the new house is more or less monopolizing my mental energy right now, and the house is far from being ours! Rugs! Furniture! Paint! Basement storage! Where to put the T.V! Hanging art! So many possibilities!

  3. Kate says:

    Oh, Judy, we’ve been thinking about you and praying for you all. We are so very sorry about Agnes. I could say a million trite things, but, well, just know how much our hearts go out to you. I’m glad that you sound so at peace and like you are continuing to live life. Congratulations on your new home–it is lovely! We will pray that all goes well!

  4. Penny says:

    I can hear in your post that slowly peace is returning to your life and your heart. Your confidence in how beautifully you cared for your girl while she was here, and your confidence in her purity and her place with Our Father must help in your healing. The house is lovely. You two and your historic houses!! Trace a little cross on our Stephen’s forehead for us and know that we pray for him, and for all of you………..The Cliftons

  5. Kay Becker says:

    he new house is beautiful—-love the floor—I am so happy for you–thanks for sharing.

  6. Daphne says:

    Thank you for sharing. I would suggest the nutrition/cook book Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon. It will get you going on all the good recipes and how and why to soak every seed and grain, etc. The first 80pp is a re-education in nutrition. You will love it.

  7. Deb H says:

    Your new home is ADORABLE!

Leave a Reply

