Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

7 Quick Takes: October 11 “Look at this cool stuff” edition

on October 11, 2013

Linking up with Jen at Conversion Diary. In the interest of sparing you my complaining, here are seven cool things that are totally non-important.

1. DIY tumblr, which I have never seen before today when a page I “like” on Facebook made a link. The lady made a giant squid pillow! I could totally do that.

2. This Russian guy does amazing makeup/beauty work. Most of the models don’t even look like themselves anymore.

3. I’m really excited about this.

4. One of the days I was sitting with Agnes at the hospital during her last stay, I watched PBS on a Sunday afternoon. I watched Joanne Weir Cooking Confidence and she made this soup, Butternut Squash with Carrot Soup. I have made it two times at home in the intervening weeks, and I give it high marks. It is very delicious and not complicated, though it does take a long time start-to-finish. The time is mostly waiting for things to cook, but you do have to plan ahead. It is worth the time, and Stephen likes the soup too!

5. Speaking of soup, I am discovering that I love this option for dinner. I have made several kinds of soup in the past few weeks, and I like that it is fairly difficult to do something catastrophic. I made the squash soup, and a soup with chicken and barley, and a cheesy potato soup with broccoli. I followed recipes for all, but I made some adaptations and they still tasted great. How easy is soup, with crackers and cheese, or bread, or a toasted sandwich?

6. Apparently I’m obsessed with the Dragonriders of Pern books by Anne McCaffery. I read them when I was in high school and I come back to them time and again. I have recently read all of them again except the few that I reread not too long ago already. It is a fascinating world with many compelling characters. There are a couple things I find especially interesting, but I guess not interesting enough to talk about them in detail: 1) there is no religion on Pern and no apparent belief in a Higher Power. 2) there are very few cases of cancers, mental or physical disability, or other genetically inherited conditions. 3) the society is culturally liberal from a sociologic standpoint (no stigma for homosexuality or infidelity), yet “drudges” abound in every dwelling. They do menial, dirty work and are often people with more limited intelligence and aptitude. There is also a very strong caste system, though it is possible to move among the classes.

7. I like this song on the radio right now.

One response to “7 Quick Takes: October 11 “Look at this cool stuff” edition

  1. Kathy Schwager says:

    I read and enjoyed all of the Dragonriders of Pern books quite a few years ago. Maybe I should haul them out and see if they still captivate me like they did when I first read them.

    Michael and I really like a hearty soup with a good baguette for supper. There are lots of options, one of my favorites being Tuscan Bean Soup. No surprise there, as you know my affinity for all things Italian!

Leave a Reply

