Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

7 Quick Takes: October 4

on October 4, 2013

Hi y’all. Linking up with Jen at Conversion Diary, as per usual on a Friday.

1. Yesterday in my haste to write a quick blog post before bedtime, I forgot to mention a Cool Thing. Fr. Michael Gaitley asked all of us at the talk to pray for him as he is traveling to Mexico to meet with super-wealthy benefactors with the hopes that someone will finance the translation of 33 Days to Morning Glory into Spanish and then support giving away millions of copies for free. He said this project has recently launched in the U.S. and it has been extremely successful. Like, they printed a couple million Spanish 33 Days, and the books have been available for a week, and they only have a few thousand left. Successful. And Fr. Michael wants to do the same thing in Mexico. So maybe all y’all can pray for him too!

2. And the other cool thing is that Fr. Michael will have the opportunity to see the image of Our Lady of Guadalupe up close and pray with her. And, he promised us that he would pray for Agnes when he sees Our Lady! He really did offer a beautiful blessing for Agnes when we met him last night. I feel more at peace about Agnes’ surgery.

3. I really hope Agnes’ hospital stay next week is brief. I don’t know how I will handle another month-long stay. Last time I started to pull away and feel disconnected and detached from Agnes and I don’t want that to happen again. Although, I will say the one bright side to her going to the hospital is that I can focus on Stephen when I’m at home, and go to bed before 11pm. But those are not sufficiently brights sides to make me long for an extended inpatient visit. A few nights would be more than enough.

4. My big plan for tomorrow is to bake some cookies. I haven’t decided which kind yet. I really like cookies, but those pre-packaged cookies you find in the cookie/cracker aisle of the grocery are just a waste of time. They don’t really taste like anything, they last forever after you open them and that’s no good, they’re expensive, and they don’t even look real. I just can’t bring myself to eat them. The only thing going for them is they are sweet. So, tomorrow I will make lovely homemade cookies! I want to really enjoy my fats and sweets if I’m going to spend calories on that portion of the food pyramid.

5. I grew up with the food pyramid and I will always think of the food pyramid no matter who comes along and shows me a color-coded plate. That is all.

6. Minor miracle today: I got Stephen to take a nap! He was up very late last night with grandma and grandpa while Jeremy and I went to the talk, but he still woke up around the normal time. I’m glad he took a nap like he never does; he really needed it! Plus, I got to doze a little with Agnes as well. Win win win. Wins all around.

7. So I guess some symptoms of hydrocephalus are sleepiness and irritability, which could explain why Agnes is either asleep, or cranky-pants. Nothing I did today calmed her down, except holding her in my arms. Then she would fall asleep, but she woke up again as soon as I laid her back in bed. Stinker. Hopefully the shunt will help her be more even-tempered. Although, I’m not sure how I will be able to handle a more wakeful baby and Stephen both! I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Read more quick takes at Conversion Diary!

One response to “7 Quick Takes: October 4

  1. JeneaSwainston says:

    I wonder if her head hurts when she is laying down, from the extra pressure?? I hope nad pray for you all that this shunt helps her and recovery is fast! Love you all…Aunt Jenea

Leave a Reply

