Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

7 Quick Takes: September 27

on September 27, 2013

As usual, linking up with Jen Fulwiler at Conversion Diary.

1. I apologize for having an exceptionally quiet week around here at the blog, but seriously, if I had tried to write posts they would have looked like this:

or this:

2. Boo hoo. Did someone say Terrible Twos, because that’s exactly what I’ve got. “Time to eat lunch.” Tantrum. “Time to go upstairs.” Tantrum. “Time to go to bed.” Hoo boy. Biggest tantrum ever. Last night was definitely not my finest hour when it was time for Stephen to go to bed. I lost my temper and I’m ashamed. And scared of what will happen tonight. Can he just magically already be in bed without me having to put him there?

3. Speaking of Stephen, he’s currently obsessed with this movie.

It’s pretty cute, beautifully animated, and about penguins which seems to be the main draw for my kid. He loves penguins, for some reason. I haven’t pushed that animal on him, but he does have one story book about penguins and as far as know that is the root of his penguin exposure. Now he loves them, and he requests this film by asking, “watch penguins? dee bee dee bee dee penguins?”

4. A physical therapist came to see Agnes today to get her signed up for in-home physical therapy. She seemed pleased about Agnes’ development so far, telling us that Agnes is pretty much in line with where she should be for a 3 month old baby. That was thrilling for us given all the talk about developmental delays and physical limitations. We aren’t expecting that Agnes will grow up to be normal, but we are happy to hear that she is not currently far behind. Hopefully she will be able to continue exceeding expectations! The therapist also said that Agnes demonstrates great alertness and eye contact. We told her how Agnes seems to anticipate negative experiences like car rides, diaper changes, and suctioning, and the therapist said that is really wonderful evidence of advanced cognitive skill. She said young babies can’t usually anticipate. So, we’ll take that news at face value and not put any additional weight behind it, but we are very happy to have heard this news.

5. I’m planning to dress Stephen as a penguin for Halloween. I think it will be cute! I think he will love it! I haven’t decided for Agnes yet, because she is most likely not going trick-or-treat. I was thinking an alien, but no would see the costume except us. And everyone on the internet who looks at the inevitable picture.

6. Tonight for dinner I followed a recipe and made Tilapia Curry with Basil. I realized as I was putting the dish in the oven that I forgot to add the curry paste. Fail. I guess I actually made Garlicky Tilapia with Basil. Because that’s about all you can taste. It actually tasted okay, but it would have been better with curry paste.

7. I did manage to get Stephen to eat his dinner. He did not want to when I set the food on the table (“no. no. no.”) but I ignored his objections and ignored him. I ate my dinner and eventually he came over and sat down. I had to leave to attend to Agnes’ demands, and while I was gone, Stephen ate up his plate. Win one for mommy. Hopefully I can manage bath time with as much grace.

For some quick takes that are not about whiny toddlers or whiny mommies, go see Jen.

2 responses to “7 Quick Takes: September 27

  1. JeneaSwainston says:

    Glad to hear that you are still with us…I can’t imagine having two kids that close together…mine was an only child…I can’t imagine having time or strength to do a blog either! You are pretty much my hero!
    Glad Agnes is doing better now! Every step is a big one for her and your family!
    Prayers continue for you to be strong and do what you need to do to ge tthrough this difficult time

  2. Kathy Schwager says:

    The best thing I can say about the “terrible twos” is that they don’t last forever. Some day you will have a sweet (mostly) three year old!

    It’s nice to hear the good report on Agnes!

Leave a Reply

