Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

What I Wore Sunday September 22

on September 24, 2013

Linking up with Fine Linen and Purple, a bit on the late side, but hey the link-up is still live until tomorrow morning so why not slip in just ahead of the deadline?

100_1807Quick run down of the fam’s duds:

Me: dress from a thrift store in Billings, MT. Sweater from Target years ago. Boots are my new Clarks; ain’t they purty?

Stephen: the finest that thrift stores have to offer.

Agnes: sleeper second-hand from Cheering on Charlie. Puppy toy and car seat second-hand from Stephen.

Jeremy: I don’t know, but he always looks super sharp for church.

We got my dad to take a group photo. Agnes is openly crying. Stephen looks angry as all get-out, and Jeremy prodded me in the shoulder and commanded me to smile an instant before my dad snapped the picture. That’s because Liturgy was kind of horribly for us this week. Agnes was mad and she needed suctioning during Liturgy so Jeremy took two trips to get her and all her stuff into the cry room, and he was gone for a long time. While he was gone Stephen decided to make an icky diaper so I had to leave too. The rest of the time Stephen was a pill and kept trying to get us to leave the sanctuary and “go downstairs.” He got whiny and cried a little and refused any sort of distraction. So I have no idea what the readings were about and I couldn’t tell you anything about the priest’s homily. We didn’t stay for coffee afterwards because the last thing I wanted to do was “go downstairs” and reward Stephen’s begging, plus we were worried about Agnes. She didn’t look that great.

Turns out that was because she’s a bit sick. Yep, baby has a minor infection in her trach or airway or something. She is coughing a lot, producing lots of thick white secretions that need suctioned, and she requires more O2. I was convinced she would go back to the hospital since she’s been home for two weeks today and that was her previous record. Well, she’s still at home at least. We’re giving an additional antibiotic and cranking up the O2. Last night we couldn’t turn the O2 high enough for Agnes to wear the mist collar, so we had to put the HME back on, which for some reason, she seems to tolerate better. The mist collar is important, though, because it helps to thin out those thick secretions that can clog up the trach if you don’t keep up with suctioning! We did actually change her trach tube this morning to see if that would help, and it did. She still is struggling with the oxygen, and she is working to breathe a little more, and being little miss cranky-pants. But the pediatrician didn’t see anything urgently concerning yesterday when we took Agnes in, so hopefully this is something that Agnes can recover from at home.

The past few days have been really bad for me. I am soclose to the end of my rope, and I feel really overwhelmed. Jeremy has been working every night and my dad was away on a business trip, so the troops have been thin around here. Not to mention our nurse didn’t come on Sunday night so we took turns covering the time. It’s good for you, my dear readers, that I did not have time to write any blog posts. You don’t need an earful of my fatalistic depressive crazy rants. Hopefully things start looking brighter in the next couple days. Because my weariness is interfering with my ability to care for my children.

2 responses to “What I Wore Sunday September 22

  1. woodra01 says:

    Wow, that sounds tough. I hope Agnes feels better!

  2. Bettina Seaton says:

    I’m sorry she’s sick again. I can only imagine what you’re going through. I hate to hear about the suffering, but glad you’re sharing it with us/

Leave a Reply

