Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

7 Quick Takes: September 20

on September 20, 2013

Hi y’all. Linking up with Jen at Conversion Diary.

1. I read Jen’s quick takes before coming here to write my own, and her take about Delena’s take about Myers-Briggs Theme songs is really interesting. Right now I’m listening to Jen’s chosen theme song for her personality type, INTP

It’s pretty interesting. My personality type is ISFJ, according to the super quick test I found online. I wonder what my theme song would be? I will strenuously consider this and report back when I figure it out.

2. So a couple days ago I wrote about Stephen refusing to eat, and taking pictures helped him forget his tantrum and eat his meal. It has worked a couple times since then, but I think the novelty is wearing thin.

stephen soup stephen sandwich

3. Last night Jeremy and I changed the sheets on our bed. Sashimi the Cat helped.

cat under blanketcat under blanket 2

4. I made a dish from the Everyday with Rachael Ray Magazine again tonight, but this time it was one of her “30 Minute Meals” and I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe I’m not the first one to discover this, but for real, her idea of “30 minute” meals is totally wonky. I knew this as soon as I looked at the recipe, and I know I’ve thought this before on the other occasions I’ve contemplated making a dish from that section of the magazine. This one was Spaghetti with Cauliflower and Tuna. Early this afternoon I took almost an hour prepping some of the veggies: cutting up the cauliflower, separating the parsley leaves and stems, and dicing the pepper. Then when I got started this evening, it took about 45 minutes active cooking time. Granted the recipe says things like, “two shallots, finely chopped. Four garlic cloves, finely minced.” But still, the only way you could do this recipe in 30 minutes was if you cook it on a 30 minute Food Network program and have a sous chef prep all the veg before the show starts.

5. Also, that recipe above requires a “6 to 8 oz can of sustainable tuna.” What, will the recipe fail if you use unethically-farmed tuna cans in your dish?

6. Has anyone ever done a HomePath mortgage or HomePath Renovation Mortgage to get a house? Jeremy and I are looking into it because you can get a house for as little as 3% down, and the renovation mortgage allows you to borrow what you need to update a house as part of the whole mortgage package. There are a ton of houses “with potential” around the area, and we agree except we lack the capital to invest in a property that needs attention. And we like the low down payment!

7. We took the kids out on a short trip again today. Agnes really extremely hates riding in the car. She starts crying as soon as we put her in the car seat, and keeps going and going the whole time we’re driving. She does get tired and she has to take breaks, but when she feels rested she starts “screaming” again. She flails her arms, her hair gets really sweating, she kicks her feet, bubbles form at her mouth, she squeezes her eyes shut and turns pink. The pulse-oximeter beeps and beeps. It’s actually quite comical. It’s fortunate she makes very little sound when she cries because that would take the situation from comical to tragic and someone-please-for-the-love-of-god-make-the-baby-stop-crying! territory.

Go to Jen’s page for more quick takes. Thanks for reading!

4 responses to “7 Quick Takes: September 20

  1. judy says:

    I think I found a song: Pink’s “Glitter in the Air”

  2. Samantha says:

    Oooh, great idea to stop tantrums! I’m going to try that approach next time one hits in my house. 🙂

  3. woodra01 says:

    Let me know what you find out about the home mortgage. Keep posting about your house buying process. It will really help us figure things out.

    With Agnes… could the screaming in the car be a sensory issue? When I first started taking Charlie out, she used to randomly melt down at what I thought were random times. I knew she had sensory issues. However, I assumed that they were limited to sounds, textures, oral aversion,… you know things I could see and understand. It turns out that she was bothered by movement… even more so in unfamiliar settings.

    When I became mindful of that (no sudden movements, lots of soothing, providing support for movements, slowing down), she practically stopped melting down. I don’t know if it is the case for Agnes. I thought I’d mention it because I did not know about it.

    Phew! Sorry for the long comment

    • judy says:

      She doesn’t freak out every single time, just most times. Yesterday she did very well in the car, and this morning she did well on the way to church, but not on the way home. We have considered that maybe riding in the car makes her feel sick, but we haven’t thought about her being bothered by strange movement as a sensory issue. It might be something to explore with her doctor!

Leave a Reply

