Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

Taco-Stuffed Sweetie Peppers

on September 19, 2013

I don’t usually post food stuff on here anymore, not because I’m not cooking and baking! No! Because I always forget to have the camera handy while I’m cooking or baking, then I forget about it and all the food gets eaten before I can take a picture. But, this time I thought of the camera soon enough, and you will be so pleased that I remembered because you are going to want to go make these little darlings just as soon as you finish reading this post. These stuffed peppers are so delicious, I could have willingly eaten the entire lot of them, if I had less will-power and lacked the forethought to consider my future heartburn should I attempt such a feat. So, long story short, these are delicious.

I read a stuffed jalapeno recipe in the current issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray that inspired me. I love jalapeno poppers, but the recipe in the magazine used sausage and cooked them on a grill. I didn’t have sausage and I didn’t want to get out Jeremy’s grill. So I adapted!

My dad has been getting these little sweet peppers in his weekly CSA produce bag, and this was a good way to use up a bunch of peppers. I did use some jalapenos too, but mostly the sweeties.

Taco-Stuffed Sweetie Peppers

1 pound ground beef

1/4 cup taco seasoning

1/4 cup water

2 packages (8 oz each) cream cheese. I used one regular and one low-fat

1/4 cup shredded jack cheese

1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

16 little peppers

1 cup crackers crumbs. I used Breton originals but any cracker should do. Except maybe Triscuits.

3 Tablespoons butter, melted

 

First, make taco meat. I put in less water than you normally do for taco meat because I wanted the meat dry. Then, while the meat is cooling, slice off the stem ends of your peppers, cut them in half, remove seeds, and lay them out real pretty on a baking sheet.

100_1788

Put softened cream cheese in a bowl with some shredded jack cheese and a little greek yogurt and Mix it up.

100_1792

Add the cooled meat and mix it up.

100_1794

Using a thin little spatula, smear the filling onto each pepper half.

100_1798

Melt some butter and crush some crackers. Make a crispy topping! Then dip each pepper popper into the crumbs and press to stick the crumbs.

100_1800 100_1801100_1803

Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through baking.

100_1804

Oh they are so, so good. Taco-y and pepper-y, and crunchy and creamy.

100_1806

Just a note, you will have a bunch of extra filling. You can make a third pan of peppers, or use it for burrito filling, or on nachos, or eat it with a spoon straight out of the bowl, or…

2 responses to “Taco-Stuffed Sweetie Peppers

  1. jaclynmariet says:

    Judy, thanks for this idea! I just love mini sweet peppers. I made these last night and they were fantastic. I used panko bread crumbs instead of crackers (since that was less work than crushing up crackers) and that worked just fine. I also added a chopped up hot pepper to the meat mixture, just to give it a little more kick. I am now thinking longingly of the leftover filling in the fridge….

    • judy says:

      The filling is so good–I definitely didn’t mind having extra! I like the idea of hot pepper in the mix, especially if you do use the sweet peppers. Since I used some jalapenos, I didn’t need any extra kick! I’m glad you liked this idea!

Leave a Reply

