Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

Treasure Every Moment

on September 17, 2013

Today we had to eat lunch and we served spaghetti with meatballs, and a glass of milk, and this was just totally unacceptable to Stephen. I think the underlying issue was that he wanted to keep watching “Yo Gabba Gabba” videos, but he came upstairs willingly enough when I told him it was time for lunch. Anyway, when we tried to sit him down to eat, he pitched a fit to end all fits. Jeremy and I ate our delicious lunch while Stephen rolled and screamed and cried on the floor, and we got to talking about how this was probably one of those moments we are supposed to cherish. “Cherish each moment; they grow up so fast.” Yadda yadda. Then I decided I should take a picture of Stephen throwing a tantrum so I could post it online and be like, “treasure every moment, ha ha. Even this one? ha ha.” So I got out the camera and Stephen was like:

I noticed you were trying to capture an action shot.

I noticed you were trying to capture an action shot.

Then I told him to lay down on the floor and cry some more because I was trying to put together a really good, snarky type of blog post. So then he was like:

Actually, I think this is funny.

Actually, I think this is funny.

At this point I realized that the take-a-picture thing might actually be able to snap him out of his fit, so I was like:

Now mommy wants to take a picture of you eating. Come sit on your chair.

Now mommy wants to take a picture of you eating. Come sit on your chair.

So he did. And he ate.

Isn't it fun to eat your lunch?

Isn’t it fun to eat your lunch?

Then we tried another one:

Now mommy wants to take a picture of you drinking your milk like a big boy.

Now mommy wants to take a picture of you drinking your milk like a big boy.

And all this time, Agnes was over in her crib, not wanting to be left out of the fit-pitching fun:

Waa. It's my three-month birthday and no one is serving me cake! Waa.

Waa. It’s my three-month birthday and no one is serving me cake! Waa.

Happy three-month birthday to Agnes! She is doing well at home and we are all getting used to her being here. The night nursing is going well and Jeremy and I are thinking all our future kids should be trach babies so we can sleep through the night.

 

 

3 responses to “Treasure Every Moment

  1. JeneaSwainston says:

    Gosh Stephen looks like Aiden in these pics! It’s amazing how a fit isn’t so fun if you guys are actually enjoying it!
    Agnes is learning how to get into the picture thing too!
    Glad things are going better for you all!

  2. Kathy Schwager says:

    Ah, yes — the Terrible Twos. I remember them well!

  3. […] So a couple days ago I wrote about Stephen refusing to eat, and taking pictures helped him forget his tantrum and eat his meal. It has worked a couple times […]

Leave a Reply

