Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

My Happy Goals

on August 17, 2013

First I would just like to say, “Happy Two Month Birthday, Agnes!” Yep, Agnes is two months old today, and has spent a total of two weeks at home, the rest at the hospital. At least this time she has her own private room with a private bath that includes a shower, and a TV. The room includes a TV, not the private bath. I realize how that looked up there so I want to make it clear. Plus, Agnes can order room service from the cafeteria whenever she wants and the tray will come up in about 40 minutes. So, long story short, this hospital stay is pretty nice, except for the fact that it’s mostly 6 to 12 year olds on the floor and Agnes’ nurse is usually very busy with her other patients. Oh well. Hopefully Agnes will go to surgery on Monday or Tuesday to get the tracheostomy and the g-tube. Then she will hang out in the PICU (same as NICU but “pediatric” instead of “neonatal”) for a couple days before transferring up to the floor where all the trach kids pal around together.

Now that the shock of Agnes’ new news has had a chance to sink in, I think I can mentally move on to other thoughts. Thoughts along the lines of: I need to do something active to promote my own happiness because it ain’t gonna happen on it’s own. The first step I will take is tomorrow I am going to a fitness club to sign up as a member and I will start an exercise routine on Monday morning. My fitness goal is to tone my postpartum baby belly and fit into a new pair of jeans that have a regular old zipper fly and no elastic. I will buy these beautiful jeans when I believe my goal has been achieved. My other fitness goal is to lose at least 30 pounds, but preferably 40 pounds. I have a question for you fitness calculator type people. If I exercise hard 3 to 4 mornings a week for approximately 90 minutes each time, and find opportunities to move throughout the day and on the off days…and I observe a non-deprivation diet that is mostly portion control and snubbing high fat/calorie foods most of the time: how long can I expect this goal to take? This is just for my information so I can set a reasonable timeline for myself for motivation. You know, like, lose the weight by Christmas or something. Because if this plan is going to take a really long time, I will up my game so I see some results sooner.

The other step I am taking to actively promote my own happiness is I have joined the church choir. I am maybe overqualified to participate as a lowly member of the bunch, but that is what I want to do. There is a lovely lady who kind of leads the operation now and she is way more qualified than me to lead a Byzantine choir. I’m still finding my way around the worship book and I have no idea about the different tones. The choir is fairly informal now, and I’m not sure if they will do more once the summer ends. I hope there are some regular practices because that is the best time to learn the ins and outs, and to ask questions!

Finally, the third step I am taking to promote my own happiness is, starting in September, Jeremy and I will begin following a household budget again. This doesn’t seem like a big deal, but we have just been floating and we feel kind of aimless. We are ready to start telling our money what to do. It will help us to feel more independent and give us some direction for the future. Jeremy has been keeping track of all his tips that he earns, and how much he spends on gas as a delivery driver. He is also saving his August paychecks so we can add up all the amounts and see what our true monthly income is; then we can plan for September with a fairly accurate figure. Hopefully we will be able to start saving so we can eventually restart our student loan payments and maybe even move into our place.

If you don’t mind, I will keep track of my happiness and fitness progress here on the blog. Well, I guess I don’t care if you mind! It’s my blog and I’ll write what I want! 😀

4 responses to “My Happy Goals

  1. JeneaSwainston says:

    Judy, you are such an inspiration! Agnes has been a true blessing in so many lives! I admire you guys so much! Wish I could be closer so we could be together some and I could help a bit with Stephen and Agnes.
    You and Jeremy will do great with Agnes…You love her and care about her welfare, which is a lot more than a lot of kids get!
    Can’t wait to see more pics of Stephen and Agnes!

  2. Kathy Schwager says:

    Congratulations on taking steps to make yourself happy! It will be good not only for you, but for your entire family.

  3. Michelle Lewis says:

    When losing weight, it’s safest to lose 1-2 pounds per week. Remember muscle weighs more than fat so you’ll have weeks where you don’t see the scale move. It’s best to not weigh yourself often. Instead go by the way your clothes are fitting. Hope this helps you. I, too, will be jumping on this same bandwagon when my back is all healed. Good luck! You’ve got the right attitude to get it done!

  4. Penny Clifton says:

    Judy if you have a Smartphone, try myfitness pal. Works on laptop too. Tracks food weight activity. It’s organization might free your mind a bit. Don’t use me as an example, God knows. And I have to say more women have succeeded with Weightwatchers than all other things I have seen tried

Leave a Reply

