Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

What I Wore Sunday: July 21

on July 21, 2013

It’s been awhile since I linked up with Fine Linen and Purple for the weekly What I Wore Sunday. It feels good to be back at it. Head over there to read the other linkers (we’ve been through this before…).

The prayers, hymns, and acclamations of the Byzantine liturgy are really beautiful. I notice a different thing every time we go to liturgy, and today I noticed a beautiful petition in one of the litanies that occur throughout the liturgy. The petition says, “For an angel of peace, a faithful guide, a guardian of our souls and bodies, let us ask the Lord.” And all respond, “Grant this, O Lord.” Angels have recently started to fascinate me, like in the past year or two. It is really neat to think about my guardian angel following me around and protecting me and leading me away from danger. A couple months ago I met a really neat young lady who has a special gift to see and communicate with angels. She told me that I have three angels! She says different people have varying sizes of angel entourages. Sometimes when I pray to my angel for intercession and help, I ask him/her (?) to bring all the available angels in to help as well. Every angel can’t be busy all the time, right? Then I imagine the room filling and filling, crammed full of angels, piling in up to the ceiling. It’s pretty cool, and it helps me remember that I am not alone and I don’t have to deal with my trials with only my own strength. 

I could have used some angelic intercession this morning because I was having the hardest time even getting out of bed! I got up to pump at 5:30am, then went back to sleep until my second alarm at 7:30am. That’s already pretty late for a Sunday morning, but on top of that, I couldn’t drag out of bed until almost 8:00! And we had to leave at 9:00 to get to church! And I still had to drink my coffee, eat breakfast, pump again, pick out my church clothes, get dressed, and do hair and makeup! “…Let us ask the Lord!”

sunday 7-21-13

On the steps of Holy Ghost.

Luckily I was able to do it all. Barely. I had to cram my veil in my purse and do it at church, though. Also luckily, I had already more or less decided on my outfit in my head. I picked this new top from Old Navy, a maternity skirt from Target, and my trusty Minnetonka Moccasins. The veil is my new beautiful Spanish mantilla.

I like this Old Navy top more than I expected to. Last week, I half-heartedly went shopping for some new clothes that actually fit me now that I’m not preggo anymore. I tried on a bunch of shirts that did. not. work. and finally passed the table full of henley tops on my way to register. The style looked like it might work for me, so grabbed one in the size I thought was best and bought it without trying it on. Good for me, it fit. The neckline is a little more revealing than I prefer, but it still qualifies as modest.

That skirt. I really need to stop wearing it because it was just a teensy-tiny bit too large when I was pregnant, and now I’m not pregnant. Plus there is something about it that table corners, furniture arms, staircase railings, and my walking feet find really attractive. One good tug and this thing will be long gone. I tempt fate every time I wear it. I know this, and yet I keep wearing it. “….Let us ask the Lord!”

My moccasins. O how I adore thee. Amen.

The veil. I’m still the only lady who wears a veil at church. I actually expected someone to ask me about it, but so far, no one has mentioned it. I guess no one really cares. Whatever. I really enjoy wearing a veil to church so I’m going to keep doing it!

After church we all trooped over to the hospital to visit Agnes. She was moved twice this week, first to the sub-intensive room, then to a semi-private room in the TLC section of the NICU. More and more, people are talking to us about when we take her home. No one has given us a specific date, but it will be soon. Possibly even this week!

Jeremy and I have to learn a few things before we can bring Agnes home. First, she is definitely coming home with an n/g tube. We have to learn how to put one in and how to care for it, keep it clean, and make sure it stays put in the right place. The nurse showed us how to put one in and we took turns listening to Agnes’ tummy with a stethoscope to verify that the tube was down in her stomach where it belongs.

Second, we have to learn how to administer feedings through the tube. This will involve a syringe with tubing that connects to the n/g, and possibly an electric syringe pump unless we can talk the doctor into letting us try gravity feeding.

Third, we have to learn how to draw oral medications into a syringe and administer them through the n/g. We will also have to learn how to crush a pill into small enough fragments that Agnes will either be able to suck them off a finger or the pieces have to fit through the n/g.

Fourth, the doc may send her home with caffeine as one of her medications. Caffeine helps little babies regulate their breathing and take deep breaths. If Agnes comes home on caffeine, she will also need continuous monitoring of her heart rate and respiration rate. We would get a little battery powered monitor that we would have to pack up and take along when we take Agnes out of the house.

Now that we’ve started getting information and training for going home, I really think we’ll be out of there in a week. Next Sunday I may be able to feature Agnes in What I Wore Sunday! Here’s hoping!

n25NpYi1k4LACrCiNSTm0hxNJUG22sJLdpiDNOJnd2A

Jeremy took this pic while he was holding Agnes. Them’s skilz.

6 responses to “What I Wore Sunday: July 21

  1. Your sweet baby! I love her name. Mine is only three months and I already have baby fever again. I want to hold them all. Prayers!

  2. Kathy Schwager says:

    Judy, you are looking good! It sounds like homecoming day for Agnes is coming up soon. It will be a relief not to have to drive into Akron 2-3 times a week, I imagine!

  3. jaclynmariet says:

    I like your new Old Navy shirt…pretty sure that’s the same style as 2 shirts that I bought there a few weeks ago, and I love them! Sometimes it’s hard to find nice looking, plain t-shirts that fit just right.

    Agnes is adorable! I love the name you gave her; Agnes was my paternal grandmother’s name and I’ve always thought it was quite beautiful.

  4. Penny says:

    You know, I am really liking the veil idea. I am old enough to remember when we HAD to wear them. And I still have mine. Its not as generous as yours. Only goes to the shoulders. I wonder if we could start an annual veil event. …..maybe on one of Our Holy Mother’s holy days, maybe the feast of the Immaculate conception. I wonder if women would embrace it for one day in church………and then keep it up. I should talk to Father Dave. Maybe if there was an introduction the week or so before, a little prep work, an invitation to wear anything as a veil. I just really liked what you said about how women are a temple and the temple is veiled.

    • judy says:

      I think hosting a “one time event” at church is a good way to start, especially in a place where it is very uncommon to see veils at church. The biggest hurdle for me when I was thinking of starting to wear a veil was what would everyone think? I never wore one and now all of a sudden I am. If a bunch of gals decide to do it on the same day, no one has to worry about being the one weirdo in a veil!

Leave a Reply

