Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

What I Wore Sunday: June 9

on June 9, 2013

Linking up with Fine Linen and Purple today.

First of all, I’m sorry I didn’t post yesterday, even though I have come to realize that no one reads my blog on days when I don’t publish a new post. Weird, huh? Anyway, I do have a really good reason: there was a spider on the ceiling in the office directly over the desk chair, and I was not about to do any computing while that bad boy was hanging around. I finally screwed up the courage to deal with it today, and now I can go back online.

Jeremy and I have really been enjoying attending church at Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Church. The Liturgy is really beautiful and I’m starting to make sense of the different elements that come together during the course of the celebration. I read a book about the Byzantine tradition which really helped outline the many parts of a Divine Liturgy celebration. Plus the nice folks at Holy Ghost put together a binder full of photocopies of all the music so newbies like myself can follow along and participate. One gentleman was explaining the ritual books to us today, and how difficult it is to find your way around, which is why they do the binders. I agree; ritual books from any tradition are notoriously not user-friendly. I’m convinced that’s the reason more Catholics don’t pray the Liturgy of the Hours on their own at home: the books are really hard to use what with all the ribbons, flipping pages back and forth, special sections for feast days and different seasons, etc. I’m really glad Holy Ghost prints out the music, because I really like to sing it! The tunes are so simple and melodic, and the texts are really rich with poetic images. I especially like the hymns about the BVM.

100_1668For my church outfit today, I’m wearing this black and white dress again, which I bought at Savers in Albuquerque. Since I’m doing prenatal testing and doctors visits three times a week–where they put on fetal heart monitors, glop on goo for ultrasounds, and palpitate my uterus–I tend to wear skirts/pants and shirts to make it easier at the appointment. So, on the off days I like to wear my dresses! After Agnes is born I’ll have to retire most of my dresses while I’m nursing, too, so I’m trying to enjoy them now while I have the chance.

I’m also wearing the black scarf again. Jeremy asked me today if I’ll ever wear my lace veil again, and I couldn’t answer yes or no. I really want to, but I don’t want to stick out too much. I want to talk to Fr. Sal first, even though I’m sure he will tell me to do what I want.

If you were to ask me, “Can you live without your black Minnetonka Moccasins?” I would have to answer, “No.” Truly.

In other churchy type news, Fr. Sal told us today that he checked around and learned that he can do chrismation and first communion for Stephen at the same time he baptizes Agnes! That is so exciting for us, since all our family will already be here. It will be exciting for the parish too, for our family to come into the church in this way. Overall, the community is older, though there are a few young families. It will be really special for the community to welcome two children sacramentally. There is another young lady at the church who is also about to have a baby, so the church will be full of the sounds of children! So beautiful!

One week until Agnes arrives. The countdown has already begun.

Leave a Reply

