Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

Oh Baby

on March 25, 2013

For part one of my baby’s story, click here.

Today we had another follow up ultrasound and visit with the doctor about our sweet little girl. It looks like the ventriculomegaly is progressing very slowly since the last time, but still progressing. Three weeks ago the ventricle measured about 11 mm and today it measured about 12.4 mm or something near there. The doc said a normal measurement for a baby of her gestational age would be about 8 or 9 mm, and the condition isn’t classified as “severe” until the ventricles are swollen to at least 15 mm.

Also in new news, her tummy appears to be measuring small compared to everything else, but no one could tell me what that signifies. The doc said the placenta and umbilical cord look fine so the issue is internal with the baby.

For the good news of the visit, though my girl is pretty small, she is tracking a growth curve! She is growing at a normal rate, just starting out small. This is a change from my hulking gigantor first born who debuted at 8 lb 15 oz. My baby currently weighs in at 1 lb 5 oz, which does seem small for just over 26 weeks, but at least she is growing.

Also in good news, the blood test scan for infections came back negative! That is a huge relief since it seemed like that would be the worst possible outcome based on what the doc said at our last visit. So that just leaves some other genetic issue that they can’t test for, just because there are so many possibilities and they can’t test for everything.

We even got some really good pictures of her, even though she wasn’t being very cooperative.

26W2D_3

 

She pretty much constantly had her hands up in front of her face. “Go away and leave me alone. Stop prodding me with that wand.”

And they did a cool 4-D image:

26W2D_5

 

There she is! Isn’t she precious? It looks like she has hair, but the technician said there’s not as much hair as it looks; it’s more of a blurring at the edge of the frame. She is moving around a lot in utero and I am gaining weight slowly. I wish some of it would go to her! Jeremy and I were joking about what foods I should eat to help my little girl bulk up. We decided it would probably be raw broccoli and pickles, two of my absolutely least favorite foods. Unfortunately, the nurse practitioner I spoke with said there’s really nothing I can do to help my baby gain weight. Oh well, I guess I won’t have to choke down all that broccoli after all.

 

Saint Maria Goretti, pray for us.

6 responses to “Oh Baby

  1. Kathy Schwager says:

    Sounds like some positive news! Can’t wait to meet this little sweetie!

  2. Juliana Tomingas says:

    Oh Judy, she’s absolutely beautiful! I’m happy to hear the positive news, and I wil continue to pray for all of you. Your family’s faith through this challenge will be an inspiration to many! St. Maria Goretti, pray for us!!

  3. Bettina Seaton says:

    That’s about the most adorable sonogram I’ve ever seen! She looks like a peach! ‘Twas good to see you last night. I’m sure going to miss the Schwagers! I felt like I was just getting to know you but now I feel like I’m losing some good friends. Gary felt badly after you left last night. He wanted to give you Luke Macik’s contact info. He was watching CSI – an addict. I’ll have him text it to Jeremy. Also, I found the gift I wanted to give you. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

