Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

7 Quick Takes Friday March 15

on March 15, 2013

Today I’m joining Jennifer at Conversion Diary and all the fine bloggers for a quick takes Friday link up. Head over there to read some other quick takes!

 

1. Today we went to Savers to buy Stephen a new wardrobe. I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed this, but toddlers grow really fast. The last time it was warm enough to wear shorts and t-shirts all day and then go to bed without the fleecy sleeper, Stephen was like half the size he is now. So we stocked up, all for under $30. Ka-ching. That even includes a nice dress for me! I love shopping at thrift stores. I got a catalogue in the mail today for maternity clothes, and I’m looking at the $35 dresses thinking they are sooo expensive. Then Jeremy comes home and says, “huh. I don’t think they’re that expensive.” I guess I’m just spoiled by Savers and Goodwill.

2. Maybe it’s a pregnancy skin condition, or maybe it’s the dry mountain air, but my face has never ever been so dry as it has been the past couple weeks. Sure, I’ve dealt with the occasional patch of dry skin, but even in the depths of a Minnesota winter I’ve never had visibly flaking skin all over my face. I’m sorry if that’s gross for you, but it’s really bugging me. No matter how much I use the exfoliating face wash and smear lotion, the dryness won’t go away. If anyone has a tip, I am all ears.

3. I think my cat has a mental disorder. He bites his back until it bleeds, then he keeps licking it and messing with it so it takes forever to heal. He does this mostly when we leave him alone for a while. We first noticed it when we moved to New Mexico and we had him in a kennel for about a week because we were packing and moving and arranging to air-ship him to our new home. Then a couple weeks ago, I was in Ohio and Jeremy went on a retreat for the weekend, and the cat did it again even though we hired a very attentive cat sitter for the two days the cat would be home alone. I’m not saying the cat isn’t strange in other ways, but I’m pretty sure this is the only actually clinical disorder I’ve noticed. I wonder if the veterinarian will diagnose mental disorders in cats…

4. So yesterday was Pi Day, because it was 3-14. Jeremy and I were going to get pie from the Village Inn yesterday after dinner, but it didn’t work out. So we got some tonight! It’s waiting for me right now, patiently sitting in its little take out box. Village Inn has legendary pies apparently. We read about them on the table tent the first time we went there to eat. Unfortunately, as is so often the case, we didn’t save any room for pie. So we vowed to partake of the pie on our next visit. That didn’t work either! So we vowed again. I think we might actually fulfill our promise to the pie this evening. I better hurry up and finish writing!

5. Jeremy and I have been watching Mad Men on Netflix. We are just now finishing the fifth season with one episode remaining. Gosh, why did it get so depressing?

6. When Jeremy and I found out about our baby’s ventriculomegaly, we started a novena to Saint Maria Goretti and we got a mini miracle. The blood test that tests for chromosomal abnormality failed the first time! Which I guess hardly ever happens. So I submitted a fresh vial of blood, and the test came back negative! The first test failure and the resubmission all happened within our novena. At the follow-up appointment when we learned more about the condition and how serious it could possibly turn out, we started a second novena. Today was the eighth day. I’m expecting great things for our little one, with our prayers in the arms of sweet Saint Maria!

7. Stephen has been helping us pray the rosary and our novena in the morning. We pass out rosaries (he gets a knotted cord one) and make the sign of the cross. Then we begin and Stephen pays a little attention, or runs off to chase the kitty, or plays with toys in the room. When we get close to the end, like to the “Hail, Holy Queen” prayer, he comes back and grabs his rosary again, and sits on the couch by us, and prays with us to the end. He makes the sign of the cross and kisses the cross on his rosary, complete with lip smacking sound. Then we all give our rosaries to Jeremy to put away, except Stephen always wants his back right away. Then we go eat breakfast. It’s a very nice morning routine, and I’m very glad Stephen enjoys participating.

The end. Time for pie.

4 responses to “7 Quick Takes Friday March 15

  1. Kathy Schwager says:

    It’s wonderful that Stephen is involved in the novena for his baby sister! Good work, parents.

    • judy says:

      He really likes to pray the rosary in the morning. It doesn’t go so well if we do another one during the day, like with a group. His limit really is one rosary per day. But that’s still really good for a 22 month old!

  2. jaclynmariet says:

    The math classes at our school were celebrating Pi Day…when I went to get my lunch out of the fridge in the staff room it was full of delicious-looking pies! Sad that we couldn’t eat the students’ pies, we teachers decided to have our own pie day in a couple of weeks. I think I will make banana cream.

    • judy says:

      Yes! Banana Cream pie sounds great. I had cherry pie from the Village Inn last night and it was amazing with a bit of ice cream. Though I told Jeremy that I’m not sure exactly how amazing it was, so I may need another slice to complete my assessment!

Leave a Reply

