Laughing, Weeping, Living

Life happens. You laugh about it or cry about it, sometimes both.

This post is not about fish tacos

on February 23, 2013

So today was the first day in two weeks that my husband Jeremy had the entire day free from work. He works for our parish church and his hours often involve weeknights and weekends, sometimes just for a couple hours at a time, like when he guest teaches at the youth group or something. And today was with first day in two weeks he didn’t have to go in for even one minute. Yesssss. So we spent the day doing lovely family things like:

1. Eating oatmeal for breakfast. I made three servings according to the tube of oats, and we each ate one serving. One serving for me, one for Jeremy, and one for Stephen, my 21 month old toddler. Yes, that’s right. The toddler ate just as much oatmeal as us adults. And then he was upset when I took away his empty bowl, like he wasn’t done with it or something.

2. Going to the storage unit to pick up the big suitcase so I can pack for my trip. Stephen and I are going to visit my parents in Ohio on Monday. We’ll be there for a week. I’m not sure how much blogging I’ll do while I’m gone; we’ll have to see.

3. Going to the pet store to buy more cat litter and cat food. The Petco in Albuquerque has a refillable litter container. You buy the full container once then pay a lesser price to refill it from the giant cat litter sand box they have in the cat section of the store. Maybe all Petcos have this, I don’t know. I’ve never seen it before and I think it’s great. Also in cat news, the Science Diet food our cat forces us to buy has a new package that now closes with velcro. Velcro. How cool is that?

4. Eating leftover pizza for lunch. And because I’m a good little blogger, I linked you to the relevant previous post, even though you can just scroll down the page and see it right there. Ha. Ha ha.

5. Putting Stephen down for a nap, and then tragically, waking him up again when it looked like he was sleeping too late into the afternoon. Oh boy, that did not go well. It took two cups of juice, four crackers, a muffin, a diaper change, a clothes change, and a box of legos to bring him down from that ledge. And even then he was cranky up until bedtime.

6. Eating fish tacos for dinner.

And now Jeremy is off bottling home-brewed beer with some friends and I’m home alone with the cat and a sleeping toddler, writing a blog post.

How did you all spend your lovely Saturday?

One response to “This post is not about fish tacos

  1. Kathy Schwager says:

    Glad you all had a nice family day! Have a good time visiting your parents.

Leave a Reply

